On January 13-19, 2016 the XII International Zhautykov Olympiad (IZhO) in mathematics, physics and informatics is being held at NC JSC of the National physics and mathematics school in Almaty. The opening ceremony of the Olympiad  takes place on Thursday January 14 at 16.00 at the Kazakh academic drama theatre after M. Auezov.

In the competition, which is held annually, 58 teams (the 400 participants) from 18 countries of the world will take part according to preliminary data: Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia and Mongolia. The members of the Jury that include scientists from 8 countries : Kazakhstan, Russia, Bulgaria, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Belarus and Uzbekistan.The international Olympiad in each subject consists of two rounds. On physics, the 1st round is theoretical where the participants are given three theoretical tasks, and the 2nd round is experimental where participants have to perform one or two experimental tasks. In I and II rounds on mathematics and informatics participants solve problems (theoretical rounds).

 IZhO  is the unique Olympiad held annually on the basis of one school with ranking individual ratings and rating of the strongest teams of the best specialized schools of the near and far abroad.

The international Olympiad  promotes  strong professional links among physics and mathematics schools of  different countries,  develops  information culture of students, and also allows to reveal the most talented students in the field of computer sciences, computer modeling and information technologies.

It is very important that such competitions increase interest of students in profound studying of physics and mathematics. The international Olympiad gives an opportunity to team leaders to exchange experience on improvement of education and implementation of this experience in their countries, and to participants to get acquainted with the peers from other countries.Last year Kazakhstan won 51 medals from 182 medals, whereas RPMS  won 20 of them. The fact that all Kazakhstani winners and prize-winners of the Olympiad (51 pupils) received educational grants of leading universities of Kazakhstan.This year as well, the participants  have an opportunity to meet representatives of leading universities of Kazakhstan – Nazarbayev University, KBTU (Kazakhstan-British Technical University), MUIT (the International IT University) and KazNU (Kazakh National University)during the Olympiad. Universities demonstrate presentations according to the academic programs and admission rules.

Winners of the Olympiad have chances to become owners of various scholarships.IZhO will be held under the auspices of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan , “ Daryn” (Republican Scientific and Practical Center), NC JSC “NPMS”, and also with assistance of Almaty city local authority (akimat).

Closing Ceremony of the Olympiad  takes  place on January 18, at 16.00 in the Kazakh academic drama theatre after M. Auezov.


Nazarbaev University
Faculty Of Mechanical Mathematics Of Al-Farabi Kazakh National University
Physical Technical Faculty Of Al-Farabi Kazakh National University 
Kazakh British Technical University
Ada University, Baku, Azerbaijan   Presentor:Dr.Fuad Hajiyev                
International It University
Czech Education Center (Education In Czech Republic And Usa)