The International Zhautykov Olympiad in Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science was first held in 2005 with 189 representatives, comprising 17 teams, participated from among specialized schools in Russia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan and Turkey.

The Olympiad is unique because each participant is part of a team, thereby receiving awards in a collective setting. which motivates each to struggle not only for their individual results, but to defend the honor of the whole team and the country they represent. This approach is a monumental incentive for the competitors and their coaches to work more diligently on their team results.

The Olympiad is conducted each year at the National School of Physics and Mathematics Almaty, establishing a high standard of global scope. IZhO is an ambitious international project in Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science that engages teams from specialized schools from different countries.

The dual aim of the Olympiad is to promote the sciences in Physics and Mathematics among schoolchildren by encouraging international teamwork among specialized schools around the world and to exchange experiences of organizing and conducting Olympiads. The implementation of the project also provides an excellent opportunity to show the caliber of education in Kazakhstan and to familiarize the participants and guests with the national culture.

The Olympiad is held by Fizmat Almaty together with the Republican Scientific-Practical Center “Daryn”, which is supported by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Al Farabi Kazakh National University and International IT University.

IZhO’s global footprint grew considerably from 22 teams (185 contestants) representing 6 countries in 2005 to 146 teams (1006 contestants) representing 21 countries in 2021. More importantly, these same countries have become regular guests of our country and the CIS (the Commonwealth of Independent States): Russia (including the Republic of Sakha and Bashkortostan), Azerbaijan, Georgia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan Turkmenistan, and also foreign countries: the Czech Republic, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, Indonesia, Mongolia, Serbia and Iran.

The motto of the Olympiad ,“Great friendship through collaboration in Physics and Mathematics,” inspires a welcoming atmosphere, a healthy rivalry, and cross-cultural solidarity.

The distinguishing aim of the Olympiad, since 2006, has been to identify top STEM schools.

The Grand-Prix winners of the Olympiad were: the Belorussian State University team in 2006; the Tudor Vianu National High School of Computer Science team from Romania in 2007; the Advanced Educational Scientific Center team from Kolmogorov’s boarding school of Moscow State University in Russia from 2008 – 2014; Fizmat Almaty team from Kazakhstan in 2015; the School № 1329 team from Moscow, Russia in 2016 – 2017; the Lyceum #31 team from Chelyabinsk, Russia in 2018 – 2019; Mathematical Grammar School, Belgrad, 2020; International Computing High School of Bukharest 2021.

The honored guests of the Olympiad were: Josef Pelikan, Professor and Chairman of the Presidium of the International Mathematical Olympiad in 2006-2007; Waldemar Gorshkovsky, Professor and President of the International Physical Olympiad (IPhO) from Poland in 2007; John Webb, Professor and Secretary of the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) from South Africa; Gavrilov M.G., Chairman of the International Astronomical Olympiad; N. Aghahanov and Kozel S.M., Chairmen of the All-Russian Mathematical and Physical Olympiads.